University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

National Japanese Speech Contest goes Online

31st annual competition holds this year's speech contest on YouTube.

 
The Japan Foundation, Toronto recently announced that it will be moving the Canadian National Japanese Speech Contest (NJSC) to an online format for its 31st annual competition.
 
The National Japanese Speech Contest (Canada) was established in 1989 under the auspices of the Japanese Embassy in Ottawa in order to promote the Japanese language education in Canada. NJSC has been sponsored by the Japan Foundation and held at a different location across Canada annually. Consulates General of Japan, universities and corporations have provided various support and assistance in making this event very successful and important to the Japanese community. The NJSC is now co-hosted by the National Japanese Speech Contest Organizing Committee and CAJLE.
 
In order to ensure the safety and well being of participants, judges and attendees, this year's organizers have chosen to move the contest to an online format, with contestants using zoom to showcase their speeches. Judges will also connect via the internet to evaluate the speeches and select this year's winners with the whole contest being broadcast via YouTube.
 
All are welcomed and encouraged to attend the live stream of the 31st Annual National Japanese Speech Contest, which brings together Japanese-language learners from all across Canada.

View full contest program
 
You can tune in on
Sunday, March 29, by clicking the link below:

Watch the 31st Annual National Japanese Speech Contest live

Atlantic (ADT) 2:00pm  |  Quebec / Ottawa / Ontario (EDT) 1:00pm  |  Manitoba (MDT): 12:00pm 
Alberta (MDT): 11:00am  |  BC (PDT): 10:00am

The Japan Foundation, Toronto YouTube channel