University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Submitted by admin on Fri, 06/24/2016 - 8:48am

School of Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures

The School of Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures will serve from two main offices:

SLLLC C-Block Office: Craigie Hall, Room C 205
Inquiries related to: Arabic Language and Muslim Cultures, Chinese, East Asian Studies, East Asian Language Studies, German, Japanese, Linguistics and Russian

Phone: 403.220.5293 | Fax: 403.284.3610
SLLLC D-Block Office: Craigie Hall, Room D 310
Inquiries related to: French, Italian and Spanish
Phone: 403.220.5300 | Fax: 403.284.3634

Campus maps and interactive room finder

Office Hours:
Monday-Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m., 1 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Statutory Holidays: Closed

Mailing Address:
School of Languages, Linguistics, Literatures and Cultures
University of Calgary
2500 University Dr. N.W.
Calgary, AB  T2N 1N4

School Interim Director
Dr. Betsy Ritter

Manager of Administrative Services
Katherine Guevara (SLLLC D-Block | CHD 310)

Administrator, Communications
Francey Pisicoli

Administrative Assistants
Tamara Schürch (SLLLC D-Block | CHD 310)
Emilia Tsyganok  (SLLLC C-Block | CHC 205)

French Centre
Director: Dr. Eileen Lohka
Team Lead: Valère Gagnon
Program Coordinator: Micheline Lee

Language Research Centre
Director: Dr. Olga Mladenova
Administrative Support: Micheline Lee

Arts IT (Computer inquiries)

Phone: 403.220.8611
OnlineService Request Form

Social Sciences Building, Room 1325

Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m., and 1 - 4:30 p.m.
Statutory holidays: Closed

Division of Chinese Studies and Japanese Studies
Division Chair: X. Jie Yang
Undergraduate Advisor (Chinese): Shu-ning Sciban
Undergraduate Advisor (EAST): A.W. Barber
Undergraduate Advisor (Japanese): Akiko Sharp

Division of French and Francophone Studies
Division Chair and Undergraduate Advisor: Anthony Wall

Division of German Studies, Russian Studies, Arabic Language and Muslim Cultures
Division Chair: Cheryl Dueck
Undergraduate Advisor (German): Cheryl Dueck
Undergraduate Advisor (Arabic Language and Muslim Cultures): Asmaa Shehata
Undergraduate Advisor (Russian): Olga Mladenova

Division of Linguistics
Division Chair: Darin Flynn
Undergraduate Advisor: Dennis Storoshenko

Division of Spanish Studies and Italian Studies
Division Chair: Kenneth Brown
Undergraduate Advisor (Italian): Emilia Spoldi
Undergraduate Advisor (Spanish): Kenneth Brown 

Graduate Program Directors
French, German, Spanish and Languages, Literatures and Cultures: Elizabeth Ritter
Linguistics: Stephen Winters

Graduate Program Administrators
Linguistics: Biljana Arnautovic
French, German, Spanish and Languages, Literatures and Cultures: Federica Gowen